Nationals are NL East Champs!

The Washington Nationals are your 2016 National League East Division Champions!

With a 6-1 win over the Pittsburgh Pirates tonight, combined with a New York Mets 10-8 loss to the Philadelphia Phillies, the Nationals secured their third NL East Division Championship in the last five years.  Reynaldo Lopez (4-3) tossed 5.1 shutout innings of relief, after 2.2 innings from Joe Ross in his second start since returning from injury.

Offensively, Bryce Harper and Stephen Drew both drive in two runs each.  Drew got the Nationals off to a quick start with a two run single that capped off a three run first inning.  Washington would three more runs in the fourth inning.  Jayson Werth, Harper, and Anthony Rendon manufactured those three runs to cap off a 6 run, 12 hit offensive performance.

With the division now wrapped up, the Nats will head to post-season baseball for the first time since 2014.  But, the Nast are not done.  They will now move forward to fight to secure home field advantage over the LA Dodgers, their likely first round opponent.


Comments are closed.